Luxbite review

LUXBITE REVIEW

Luxbite is a small cafe located in South Yarra and is known for their gourmet macarons and cakes.  I got there around 4pm on a Sunday afternoon and the place was packed!  Seats were fully occupied by happy customers chit chatting over coffee and there was an eager looking line of people waiting for a table.  I decided to wait it out and shortly after a few minutes I was placed in a slightly awkward spot near the counter and the cake display area.  To be fair it was really crowded and they did ask me if it was okay if I wanted to sit in the spot or not.  Not wanting wait and since it was only myself I told them I wouldn’t mind.  After some pondering on what I should get I requested my order at the counter (since I was so close to it anyway) and took my seat and soaked in the atmosphere.  The cafe is bustling, if there was any music playing you definitely couldn’t hear it amongst the yums and exclaimed oh’s.  If you are looking for a quiet and calm experience I’m sorry you’ll have to go else where as this place was buzzing.

In the end I decided on a Mocha and a Bread and Butter Pudding with a Pandan Anglaise, service was quick and not 10 minutes later my dessert and coffee arrived.  Presentation for the bread and butter pudding was simple, not as impressive as their other desserts but really I don’t think you can do much with a bread and butter pudding.  It looked rather small and seemed to be swimming in a lot more sauce then I thought was necessary, but in the end the flavours, consistency and amounts were just right.  Don’t be fooled by this desserts mediocre appearance, it is a rich and very filling dessert.  I’m usually very reluctant to leave food on a plate, especially if it’s good food but after several attempts I could not finish this miniature monster.  Coffee was rather bland, it’s not terrible coffee but it’s nothing great either.  A little on the watery side I would probably stick to tea if I was going to go for a hot beverage.

I decided to take away another cake for later on in the evening called the Stoned Meringue Monster, a little work of art consisting of a 2 flavoured mousse on the inside (apricot and raspberry) and a pistachio base, covered in a luscious meringue, sprinkled with slithers of pistachio and what I think was a raspberry powder.  The cake was a delicious combination of tarty fruity flavours combined with a creamy sweet and slightly bitter meringue.  The texture of the slithered pistachios and base combined with the creaminess of the mousse and meringue keeps your palette wanting more with every bite.  As delicious is each element on its on is when combined equals something simply delectable.

Prices for this place were reasonable, I only had a dessert so I’m basing my judgement on desserts only and not the rest of the menu.  In future I will definitely be coming back to try more of these delectable treats especially some of the macarons and other items on the menu such as some of the breakfast’s and savoury items.  Oh yes FYI they don’t just do cakes and macarons, so if you’re not a big fan of sweets but your friends are there is an option for the non sweet tooth people out there.  Hope you found this review helpful and hope you have a wonderful experience if you ever make your way to Luxbite.

1 Response to “Luxbite review”


  1. 1 Food Follower 24/05/2012 at 9:12 am

    That peanut butter and jelly macaron has my name all over it. Everything looks so delicious! 🙂


Leave a Reply

tweet tweet

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 460 other followers

bloglovin

Recent Flickr Photos


