Visual/Inspirational journals

Hello everybody!  over the last few weeks I have been doing a cleanup of my old fashion, photography and illustration magazines I have collected over the last few months.  They’re really starting to clutter the home and it’s become a little messy, so I have began cutting out bits and pieces of parts I loved the most and have begun  creating a visual/inspirational diary.  Now for those who aren’t familiar with a visual or inspirational diary it’s basically a journal that consists of materials that have inspired your creative works, sort of like visual history guide.  It’s a great way to look back at your humble beginnings, for example a style of illustration that you liked, a photo which captured you or even a colour or a font you just can’t get out of your head.  Small things like that you can cut out, keep and use as a reference for a later date to look back on.  Now for those who have studied art, design, fashion or photography, you’ll already know all about this, however since back in the days when I attended University I never really appreciated the usefullness of these diaries.  I was always told by lecturers to keep collecting, keep building and you’ll have a treasure trove of references and inspirations to look back on once you get into a rutt.  So like all before me I am spreading the word. Make visual/inspirational (whatever you want to call it) diaries and seriously you won’t regret it.  Sure it’s a little more work but hey do what I did, be it old mags or big bulky books, add it to the journal.  Here’s some snap shots of my journal in progress, it’s sort of a  mish mash of bits and pieces, along with some drawings I did. It’s not pretty, it doesn’t have to be it’s all up to you.

Here are some more examples, these are not my own but it’s a good reference to see how different each visual diary is.  ENJOY!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

tweet tweet

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 460 other followers

bloglovin

Recent Flickr Photos


