High Tea review – Raffles Hotel Singapore

So as some already know I have just returned from Singapore and while I was there I was recommended to try the high tea at the Raffles Hotel.  I’m usually not one for hotel high teas as they seem to sort of be more for the masses instead of just focusing on the customers as I’m a big fan of good customer service.  Anyways back on topic the venue was inside the Raffles Hotel (duh!).  Besides the poor signage to where the actual tea room is you are sort of left wondering the grounds of this grand hotel, and I do mean GRAND!  Marble floors, white pillars and chandeliers this place just screams grandeur.  It’s very fancy and very pretty almost like you’re having high tea at a palace.  So after you walk around these amazing grounds, possibly several times just to find the lobby to ask where the tea room is (or in this case maybe it’s just my poor sense of direction) you’ll eventually come to the “Tiffin” room.  Now you can’t just go in and request high tea, you will have to make an appointment and come back, luckily there was room for me on that day so I quickly snatched it up and booked for a 3 o’clock slot.  Came back after a bit of a wonder round and there was a line to be seated.  Didn’t take to long for the waiter, who was very nicely dressed, to usher you to your seat before asking you about what tea you would like first and explaining the buffet options you have.

The buffet options were composed of a fruit platter section, a savoury section, and a sweets section.  The fruit platter offered dragon fruit, grape fruit, apples and oranges and pineapple, a good range to wash the platter after you have consumed all their lovely sweet treats.  And speaking of sweet treats the buffet range was amazing, apple crumble with a vanilla sauce, bread and butter pudding, chocolate mousse with caramalised pear and ginger, pear with candied lemon cake, scones and a chocolate pear and coffee cake.  There was more but these seemed to stand out more than the rest.  My absolute favourite would have to be the apple crumble and the bread and butter pudding with vanilla sauce, absolutely amazing, I’d go back again just to have those two things.  Savory section consisted of a few dimsum favorites such as tsu mai, prawn dumplings, and a couple of others along with a mini cha siew bao (meat bun) with an array of sauce to choose from.  Although it was nice to have the dim sum as an alternative they tasted rather plain, and the dim sum had been out in the air to long and had formed a sort of sticky hard shell over it.  Anyone who has had proper dim sum knows that freshly steamed is the only way to go and at no point should the skin be hard.

buffet savory

buffet desserts

So that was only the buffet section, I havent even started on the tier they provide you with yet.  Well after coming back from the buffet section, low and behold your tier is all set up for you on your table with a brand new cup of tea just waiting for you (wow I love this service).  So on your tier, though it is rather simple is petite fours (strawberry with a nut base in a pastry cup and chocolate filled profiteroles with a cherry inside (very good!).  On the second tier you have some nice tea cakes, fruit and sponge slices.  The sponge was a little dry and nothing to scream about but their fruit loaf was amazing, chunky bits of juicy fruit and nuts, absolutely smashing with a cup of english or earl grey, YUM! The last tier was by far the most disappointing out of the whole lot.  We were given a selection of sandwiches, tuna and mayo, egg, cucumber, smoked salmon and cream cheese and ham.  The bread was stale, the egg sandwiches tasted fishy, there were shells in the egg as well and over all did not enjoy any of them.

3 tiers, tier 1 petite fours, tier 2 tea cakes, tier 3 sandwiches

Selection of teas was a little poor with only 4 kinds of tea, darjeeling, english breakfast, earl grey and green tea but you  get unlimited tea and they always make sure you’re topped up.  I forgot to mention the scones earlier on but there were 2 kinds, one plain and the other with sultanas through them.  The scones were quite good, not the best but still good and they served them with a choice of strawberry jam and/or clotted cream.  I will say I much prefer clotted cream now that I have actually had it to your normal cream.  With a thick luscious almost buttery like texture with the right scones I believe you’ll be in heaven.

My overall experience I would recommend going here for high tea if you have the cash, bit pricey at $62.00, but still worth it. Service is amazing, providing excellent explanations, always making sure you are comfortable and in need of refreshments without being over bearing.  Desserts are scrumptious, atmosphere is great (they had a classical harp musician performing for us, felt like heaven) besides the poor savory and  the slightly snobby crowd I had a very rewarding high tea experience.

A good review after a good meal

15 Responses to “High Tea review – Raffles Hotel Singapore”


  1. 1 Celina 09/05/2011 at 1:41 pm

    Gah, you take photos better than any food blogs I’ve ever seen! Perhaps an idea for a second blog 😄

  2. 2 bookjunkie 06/07/2011 at 11:48 am

    Everything looks so pretty 🙂 I feel relaxed just looking at your photos.

    • 3 reclog 07/07/2011 at 3:35 am

      thank you so much, everything was really pretty!! nice blog btw, the next time i go s’pore I’ll be sure to hit up your blog to check out a few of the places you’ve recommended

  3. 4 Joelle Foong 28/10/2011 at 10:43 am

    My friends and I were wondering where we should go for high tea this weekend. After reading your blog, I think high tea at Tiffin room will definitely be on our list! 🙂

    • 5 reclog 02/11/2011 at 9:51 am

      Oh yes, it’s one of the best high tea’s I’ve had, sure it’s pricey but I just recently went to a high tea in London at the Dorchester which was much more expensive but not as impressive. I hope you went in the end and have a wonderful experience

  4. 6 Joan Van Dyle 04/03/2012 at 2:13 pm

    Can you make a reservation upon arriving in Singapore and be able to get one, as I’ll be in Singapore only about four and a half days.
    Joan

    • 7 reclog 05/03/2012 at 12:11 am

      It shouldn’t be a problem, I managed to turn up on the day and made a booking right then and there. They told me to come back in half an hour and voila high tea for me. But in my instance I may have been lucky, just call ahead and make a booking just to be sure you will secure a spot.

      • 8 Joan Van Dyle 05/03/2012 at 3:30 am

        Thanks for the info. and I am going to take your recommendation and make the reservation before leaving the states.
        Have they now a more abbreviated buffet than when you were there as I emailed the hotel and they responded the emphasis on the buffet is a “fruit theme” and made no mention of savories or sweets.
        Thanks again
        Joan

  5. 9 Joan Van Dyle 13/04/2012 at 3:42 am

    My friend and I had “high tea” at Raffles during our stay in Singapore and enjoyed it immensely! I thought the scones were wonderful, warm and buttery and with the clotted cream- just excellent. I also loved chocolate mousse and the bread pudding with vanilla sauce. I was never a fan of bread pudding but could easily enjoy that almost daily. Yes, a bit pricey but the service was good and the entire experience was excellent!
    Joan

  6. 10 Judy Jagla & Caroline Beddoe 20/04/2012 at 10:50 pm

    Can we make a booking for 2 persons, now for 7th August, 2012 when we have a 2 night stopover on route to London. We missed out last year as we were passing through as there was no availability on the day we were in Singapore. Best wishes Judy Jagla

  7. 11 Mrs M Meuross 21/07/2012 at 2:29 pm

    After being spoilt by a daily indulgence of high tea while at ShangriLa Rasa Sayang Penang, we are planning to go to one in Spore. High Tea @ Raffles Hotel is what we are after! Thank you for your blog, very useful.
    Mrs M.

  8. 12 J 11/11/2012 at 2:41 am

    Hello, i saw your post while searching online about tiffin room. I am quite interested to go for the high tea buffet. But may i asked, is the sweet/savoury is unlimited. not just one plate? we can eat how much we want issit?

    • 13 reclog 12/11/2012 at 5:38 pm

      When I went you received the usual high tea platter which is the 3 tier platter along with unlimited savoury and sweet from the buffet section. However this was last year so I recommend to check their website just in case things have changed or even call them to ask and make a booking.

  9. 14 Marina Mossman 19/08/2013 at 9:42 pm

    Hi just wanting to get your thoughts my friend and I have 5 hour lay over in singapore and we would love to experience this high tea at Raffles if I allow say 2 hours is that enough ? Is it $62 per person ?

    • 15 reclog 20/08/2013 at 12:45 am

      I would say that 2 hours should be enough as most of the food was already prepared except for the “tiered” nibbles. I would recommend booking before hand as from what I have heard there is sometimes a long waiting line, so to be sure call or email and book before hand. It was $62 per person but that was a while ago so just confirm what the price is by checking out their website before you book.


Leave a Reply

tweet tweet

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 460 other followers

bloglovin

Recent Flickr Photos

Yakushima

Yakushima

Yakushima

More Photos

